FANDOM


Balrog

The Balrog with an Arquebus, surrounded by monsters

The Balrog is essentially the final boss of Red Rogue, holding the Amulet of Yendor which is required for victory. He appears far different than normal enemies due to his red color, hulking size, and glowing aura. Defeating him can be quite the challenge, so a list of guides can be found here.

Gameplay Edit

The Balrog is first encountered when the player enters Chaos. You will see him standing at the top of the down stairs, and upon first approach he will descend. From then on, he will start at the up stairs and flee you. The most straightforward way to fight him is to cut him off from the stairs or corner him, and fight him in close combat. Since the Balrog's weapon is randomly-generated, he may be fortunate enough to end up with a ranged weapon, which can make combat far more interesting. After defeating him, he will be decapitated and his head will turn into a face.

Face Edit

Major spoiler warning!
If you do not wish to have your gaming experience spoiled, do not scroll down!

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

When you attempt to equip the face a warning screen pops up warning you that you sense a great evil coming from the face and prompts you if you're sure you want to wear the face.

If the minion puts the face on, he immediately dies and in his place will stand the Balrog at full health with the minion's weapon (though not the Amulet of Yendor). The log will say that the minion was killed by Possession and it will say that the minion's soul had been consumed. The minion ceases to spawn from open Underworld Portals. If you beat the game despite your minion's demise you get a slight variant of the ending in which Rogue does not restore the minion. The minion will be missing from all subsequent games unless your save is reset.

Now, on the other hand, if Rogue puts on the face things are a bit more dire. The log will say Rogue was killed by Possession and mention how Rogue's soul has been consumed, and then the Balrog will replace you again. However, when you try to go to the menu screen you'll notice that you no longer have the Reincarnate and Epitaph options available. The greyed out "You Died" message will be replaced with a "You Lost" message and the only option available under it is "Reset". This has the same function as the reset option in the menu: removing all of your items in other worlds and your lore.

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.